Files can be uploaded as private (internal), giving access to only firm employees and admins. A private file is indicated with a lock icon to the right of the file name. Manually uploaded files are marked private by default.
Contacts and Accounts can be associated with a private file, but cannot view the file. The association is to indicate which client is associated with the file.
Sharing a private file makes the file public. Recipients and Account Owners will have access to the file after it is shared.
When sharing a private file using Liscio Vault the message "Warning: You have selected a private file. Attaching it to a message will change the status to public, allowing recipients and Account Owners to see this file. Do you want to proceed?" will appear:
Note: Any files attached to a Note or To Do task are made private by default.